Is it Possible to Truly Feel Happy?

Online perceptions and what this makes our reality

Growning up, you visualise what your life will be like. For example, as a child I always imagined that I would be walking into my office, briefcase in hand, typing on my super swizzly computer. I’d imagine having my own modern apartment, living a fabulous ‘New York’ style lifestyle. When I look at where I am today, although it may be less “super cool and modern”, I’m pretty much where I thought I’d be. So why is there an overwhelming sense of “I lack purpose” or “I have nothing to show for my life”.

“I have nothing to show for my life”

The answer is pretty simple really. Social culture has evolved to a point where your online presence is almost a shining beacon of the fabulous life you live. Going to the supermarket to buy a loaf of bread in reality is pretty dull, put online this could be a super fun life changing trip which broadened your cultural pallet. My point being, we live to put across this perception that we live this amazing flawless life. But this comes at a cost…

So What Does This Make Our Reality?

When our online persona creates such a falsely perfective image of our lives, it’s not surprising that in reality we feel like our lives are pretty underwhelming. Especially when everything you read about your friends are just as falsely perfect. In my opinion this is a pretty toxic mix which is just part and parcel of our lives.

Don’t get me wrong, sure you can give social media the cold shoulder as some people do, but these days you can feel like your essentially cutting off a massive avenue of contact to most of the people you know. We live in a fad culture where phone numbers change as often as a mobile contract comes to an end.

By rejecting social media, are we also rejecting our ability to communicate with others?

So, my advise to all you lovely people out there, is to be aware of how these progressions into online social activity can be toxic to your soul. Take the time to look inwards and self reflect. You live a good life, you are as special as others perceive and appreciate your journey. Your life is as good as you perceive it, not what others see.

K
I’d love to hear your comments on my posts, please do so and share my posts for others.

Leave a Reply

